Buttercups & daisies

I found this bag pattern via Jeanette at Lazy Seamstress. It’s from Made by Rae. I loved what Jeanette had done with it and I dug through my fabric to see what I had to have a play with. I found this lovely spring green daisy print , that if memory serves me right I got from Jeanette in the first place – left overs from a custom bag I made for one of her Zidee customers. I also found the small check gingham and thought they paired up quite well, there’s a vintage feel floating somewhere between the 1930s and the 1950s!!

 

I made a few minor alterations to the basic instructions – making the pocket in contrast fabric, and using the lining fabric for the inside of the strap. I also sewed the strap into the bag, enclosing the ends in the top seam, rather than sewing them onto the outside, I prefer the more streamlined look and it stood a better chance of looking neater that way! I  interfaced the lining with fusible fleece as both fabrics were lighweight and it needed a bit of body – it’s a perfect weight.

 

Following JEanettes comments about it being tricky to get the tab neat (and one attempt per the instructions that would have passed muster just about but I was feeling picky) I sketched out the curved ended shape onto a slightly larger bit of fabric and sewed right round it – that was easier to manoeuvre than small curves on a small item, then I trimmed it, slashed the lining side and turned and topstitched it. It worked well, as a method. I could have made the straight sides a tad longer, to make it look less like an oval.

I do have a button dilemma though – I love the green flower buttons, they would be ideal in red, I may have to go shopping! The round red ones work well from a colour point of view, but are a little small and somehow with the gingham make it say Country & Western which wasn’t the look I was after!

Both the girls have now put in their orders and have been rootling through my stash – I love that it takes so little fabric, I do plan to make some more of these J Thank you Rae & Jeanette.

2 Responses to “Buttercups & daisies”

  1. Oooh it looks gorgeous Angi! It is a lovely pattern isn’t it?

  2. elizabethanneb Says:

    I love the green flower buttons. Cute bag, look froward to seeing it! So did you find other buttons? I am over the sewing machine crisis now well I broke the needle but thats another story……….was also making a bag!

Leave a Reply

