My name is written on His hands

nailArise, my soul, arise; shake off thy guilty fears;
The bleeding sacrifice in my behalf appears:
Before the throne my surety stands,
Before the throne my surety stands,
My name is written on His hands.

Charles Wesley

I drew this in the final time of worship at Easter School, Holy Saturday. It was an image and a phrase that had been with me throughout Good Friday and I was itching to get it on paper,when art materials were provided as part of Saturday’s meditation.

I have a bit of a theme going with my name and the whole vocational discernment thing, I don’t think I’ve told the whole story here yet, but I will. 

The verse Wesley alludes to in this hymn is Isaiah 49:16  I have engraved you on the palms of my hands and is referring to  the nation  of Israel,  God’s faithfulness in remembering;  and his promise to restore. I don’t think his faithfulness  to me is any less 🙂

Easter School was  great,  a huge mix of stuff, from the sublime to the down right silly! I’m still processing most of it, so don’t expect too much sense  on the subject just yet! It was a priviledge to live Holy Week with  so many others, I missed eveyone on Easter Sunday, it felt strange not to be doing the celebrating together too, though it was  lovely to be back with my family,both  blood & church! Even in the sombre mood of Holy Week though, the empty tomb casts its light backwards,  it’s impossible  not to know how the story carries on, and important we don’t forget that even Good Friday is a celebration.

Leave a Reply

