Kneel and adore Him

January 6th, the Feast of the Epiphany: I have been reflecting today on both the persistence of the Magi, who followed the guiding hand of God even when they didn’t really know or understand where they were headed, and on the graciousness of God revealing himself to us in Jesus…

“To be a light to lighten the Gentiles : and to be the glory of thy people Israel”

from  the Nunc Dimittis; Book of Common Prayer 1662

(and yes I know that’s kind of jumping on a  couple of weeks!…)

This Epiphany hymn is one of my all time favourites, I love the words, and the tune  to which it is commonly sung, it’s one of my special ones and means a lot to me.  It wasn’t part of my childhood, and I remember  exactly when I first heard it aged 19 when it spoke to me both powerfully and reassuringly, as it still does.

O worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness!
Bow down before him, his glory proclaim;
with gold of obedience, and incense of lowliness,
kneel and adore him: the Lord is his Name!

Low at his feet lay thy burden of carefulness,
high on his heart he will bear it for thee,
and comfort thy sorrows, and answer thy prayerfulness,
guiding thy steps as may best for thee be.

Fear not to enter his courts in the slenderness
of the poor wealth thou wouldst reckon as thine;
for truth in its beauty, and love in its tenderness,
these are the offerings to lay on his shrine.

These, though we bring them in trembling and fearfulness,
he will accept for the Name that is dear;
mornings of joy give for evenings of tearfulness,
trust for our trembling and hope for our fear.

O worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness!
bow down before him, his glory proclaim;
with gold of obedience, and incense of lowliness,
kneel and adore him: the Lord is his Name!

words:John  Monsell

you wouldn’t believe how hard it was to find anything approaching a good version of this wonderful Epiphany Hymn on youtube so excuse the little introductory bit on this one!  My favourite recording is by the Choir of Trinity College Cambridge.

2 Responses to “Kneel and adore Him”

  1. Thanks, Ange. It struck me that its also quite appropriate for those approaching ordination. Guiding our steps, joy and tearfulness particulaly.

  2. fibrefairy Says:

    😀 it’s on my list of hymns for my final service at St Bs…!

Leave a Reply

